10 Paleo Items You Should Buy at Whole Foods

Normally, I’m a die-hard Trader Joe’s fan – especially since starting the Paleo diet. However, TJ’s doesn’t always have the broadest selection, forcing me to resort to Whole Foods. Jk, I’ve actually come to really like Whole Foods, and some items I even prefer to Trader Joe’s. Here’s my must-have Whole Foods Paleo list:

1. 365 Everyday Value Organic Almondmilk Unsweetened

product_707.jpg

I don’t know WHAT is in this almondmilk, but it’s changed my view of non-dairy products. This brand is SO thick and creamy, it puts Blue Diamond to shame. Make sure to buy the one that’s in the refrigerated section and not the shelf one.

2. Tessamae’s Mayo

51SnoFp8QbL._SY355_.jpgChes_Mayo_web_size_1024x1024.png

Tessamae’s all-natural mayo is made with organic sunflower oil, cage-free eggs, vinegar, mustard, and a few other whole ingredients. Try the chesapeake mayo -gives a bit of a bolder flavor!

3. Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Aminos 

71zMsQzWmtL._SX425_.jpg

If you’re not a Thrive Market customer, it’s hard to find this amazing soy-sauce substitute. Fear not: Whole Foods carries it (about double the price, but still)! This is awesome in stir-frys, cauliflower rice, or just on meat in general!

4. Rao’s Marinara Sauce

747479000017-raos-homemade-all-natural-marinara-sauce.jpg

It actually saddens me sometimes that Trader Joe’s doesn’t carry Rao’s. This is a must-have for me, bringing me to Whole Foods. At about $8.99 a jar, Rao’s can be a little price for red sauce. But I’m Italian, and Rao’s feels like mom’s sauce in a jar – aka I’m hooked.

5. Chia Pods

ChiPodBlueberry.jpgweb_chiapod_vanilla_0.jpg

These are awesome – and kind of a sign of my laziness, but still awesome. Basically, these are chia pudding in a pod. Made with chia seeds, coconut milk, and fruit. You can have all flavors – and there are quite a lot (dark cacao, coconut, coffee bean, blueberry, mango, banana).

6. SeaSnax

ss-go-group_hires.jpgI’m not trying to be THAT girl that makes seaweed seem like the new donuts – but Sea Snax are good. Their tagline is “Strangely Addictive,” and it’s true. Very strangely. They give you a nice salty fix, and are the best seaweed brand I’ve tasted. I also love the flavors – toasty onion, chipotle, and wasabi.

7. Olives

olive_bar___whole_foods_pdx_by_worldtravel04-d57mos2.jpg

I know you can buy olives almost anywhere, but I really love the selection at Whole Foods. Olives were my not-so guilty pleasure when I first started eating Paleo. They’re not cheap, but they are just so tasty.

8. So Delicious Hazelnut Coconut Creamer

coco_creamer_pt_haz_1.png

When I finally decided to start allowing myself a few natural sugars, this creamer took over my life. I’m a die-hard hazelnut fan, and this creamer is an awesome substitute. Normally, I’m not a fan of the So Delicious brand, but this creamer is a great consistency and makes morning coffee 10x better.

9. Epic Bars

Epic-Bars-1.jpg

They’re kind of weird, but kind of amazing. I was never a huge jerky fan before going Paleo, but I’ve really grown to love it now. These bars aren’t quite jerky, but they’re a softer meat, with unique flavors like Turkey Almond Cranberry, Beef Habenero Cherry, and Bison Bacon Cranberry. I mentioned their Hunt and Harvest mix in my post about Paleo Snacks – and these are also a great bar for on-the-go.

10. Whole Foods Hot Bar

IMG_5178.jpg

Okay this isn’t a grocery item, but I have to give a shout out to Whole Foods’ hot bar. They win me over with this every time. If only TJ’s had a hot bar… Whenever I’m in a super-rush, and don’t have snacks on me, or time to order lunch, I know I can stop by Whole Foods and grab some chicken, a bomb kale salad, sweet potatoes, and other amazing dishes. A definite #key to Paleo.

Leave a Reply

